Author Spotlight Catherine Hagedorn

11224210_552116991606977_2839567480599982954_nTell us a little about yourself and your background?
    Destiny’s Children: Joby is the first book that I’ve gotten published. I had some poems published in a young writer’s anthology when I was in high school.
 
Which writers inspire you?
    There are really too many authors to mention, but I tend to like authors that make you look at things in a different light. Gregory Maguire comes to mind. After reading Wicked, I came up with the idea for my own series.  I thought that it would be neat to write a story, and then retell it from another character’s point of view. That is what I am trying to accomplish with my series. Yes, there is some repetition, but you don’t know the whole story unless you know it from everybody’s point of view.
 
When did you decide to become a writer?
   I’ve been writing stories since I was 7-years-old. My first story was called “My Teacher Has Horns”.  I didn’t really decide to become a writer until just recently, writing was just the way that I dealt with my surroundings. It gave me a sense of peace to know that no matter what happened in real life, I could spin it in my story to make it come out with a better ending.
11873752_519330651552278_4857972724246796637_nSo, what have you written?
(*Include books, novellas, short stories, poems, blogs, awards or anything of interest.)
    The only book that I have written that you could read is Destiny’s Children: Joby. I’m working on getting the 2nd book from the Destiny’s Children series published right now and writing the 3rd. I’ve gotten two poems published when I was in high school under the name Catherine Jacobson. One is called “Bitten” and the other is called “Today She Asked Me…” They were both published in a young writer’s anthology, but I don’t remember the name because that was 15 years ago. I have many, many short stories and poems that I have written and plan on putting a book for each together after I finish writing my series.
 
What genre are your books?
    I would say they are somewhere in between adventure and drama.
 
Can you give us a synopsis of your book/s?
    Well, the first book “Destiny’s Children: Joby” is about a young girl that was raised in a tribal community and is kidnapped and then forced into a marriage with the man ruling the Northern Kingdom. She spends her life trying to figure out the right path for herself and the people that she is responsible for.
 
How can readers discover more about you and you work?

facebook-fanpage-mlm-business twitter Goodreads 

Book Links: 

Amazon
B&N
 
Leave a Reply

